Smothered Pork Chops

So we’re still on vacation! And it’s been nice; no cooking, lots of food, relaxing! But I started to miss my Cajun comfort food! I’m a sucker for rice and gravy. Seriously…I think I could eat some form of rice and gravy everyday and be a happy happy person!!! 
Now most of you know that rice and gravy can take some time to prepare. When I use beef it can take around 4 hours of constant stirring and “deglazing”. It’s something I’m willing to do to enjoy one of my favorite meals. But sometimes there’s no time for all that. Or I’m lazy. Or pork was on sale! So here is my recipe for smothered pork chops with rice and gravy. 
Ingredients:

-pork chops (I usually buy what’s on sale, nothing too thick or they take longer to cook, you can get bone in or out its up to you. But I usually buy a pack with 6)

-vegetable oil (enough to cover the bottom of the pan; I used olive oil here because it’s what I had)

-salt, pepper, and Cajun seasoning to taste

-one large onion chopped 

-one stalk celery chopped

-half green bell pepper chopped (equally to amount of celery)

TIP: if you live in south Louisiana and you’re lazy you can pick up a tub of Guidry’s; it saves time!!!!

-clove of garlic minced

-one pack of Lipton Onion Soup mix

-one box of chicken stock (or broth) 

-2 cups of rice (yields 4 cups of cooked rice)
Directions:

1. Start by using a cast iron type of pot. I have a coated one that I like to used; just make sure it has a lid. But make sure whatever you use isn’t that non-stick stuff…you want some stuff to stick! Add in your oil and heat on medium high.  
2. While the oil is heating, season your pork with salt, pepper, and Cajun seasoning. 
  

3. Once the oil is hot, add the chops to the pot and brown both sides. Don’t worry about cooking them all the way…just give them a good crust. 
  
4. Once you’re done browning, transfer the pork to a plate and save for later. Your pot should have everything stuck to the bottom. Bows the time to deglaze your pot by adding a little bit of chicken stock and scraping the bottom. Use a wooden spoon for this! 
  
(Before deglaze)
  

(During deglaze)
5. Next it’s time to add in the veggies. Once I chop mine I put them all in a bowl and mix them up. 
  

(Veggies!)
6. Here’s when the gravy starts to take shape. The veggies will cook down and when they start to stick to the pot add in a little bit of stock. Keep doing this until everything looks mushy. 
  

( veggie progression) 
7. Once everything looks like mush you add in the Lipton Onion Soup Mix then the rest of the stock. Make sure you stir everything really good!! Then let it come to a boil. 
  

(Soup mix added) 

  
  

(Everything mixed) 
8. Once the pot is at a boil, lower the temp to low, then add the chops back in. Make sure you pour in the extra juice that’s on the plate!! Some times the liquid doesn’t cover the pork all the way. Just make sure to rotate the meat every 15 min or so. 
  
9. Cover and cook on low for about 45-60 min. You’ll know it’s ready when the pork is almost falling apart. If the gravy isn’t as thick as you’d like when the pork is done cooking, take the meat out and turn the heat up to reduce the liquid with the lid off. Cook your rice 30 min before serving and ENJOY!!!
  

5 thoughts on “Smothered Pork Chops

  1. This looks yummy! I love me some Cajun food! Here in Texas we like to smother it and cook it with mushroom gravy lol! Good eating! Of course I don’t do that anymore trying to eat healthy so we do pork loin with a mushroom wine gravy sauce my MIL’s recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

