Altered Lamp

Hello there, it’s Apryl here to share my next crafting adventure!  I picked up this lamp at Home Goods over a year ago (and possibly longer than that shhhh!) with the idea in mind that I was going to turn in into a headband holder for my daughter.

lampbeforepic

You’ve all seen those ditty’s on Pinterest made with an Oatmeal canister haven’t you?  Well that’s where I got my inspiration and when I saw the lampshade on this lamp, my light bulb lit up!  So here’s my attempt to make my idea come to fruition.

I started out with removing the shade from the lamp, and deciding on using Heidi Swapp Semptember Skies Paper Pad to cover the shade with.

suppliespic

And here’s the paper combination I decided on.

paperschosen

I chose the grey paper with the floral pattern to use on the lampshade.  The lampshade was effortless to cover.  The size of the paper was 12×12 and had to be trimmed down about an inch on one side in order to fit.  I chose to glue the paper directly to the lampshade using Beacon’s 3 in 1 glue.  This brand of glue is amazing and my absolute favorite.

So here’s what the new lampshade looks like!  I love it.

step1

Moving on to the lamp base.  I wasn’t quite sure at first what I was going to do with the base.  Sure it looks great in it’s original condition,  but thought it would be fun to dress it up a bit.  Again, I just used paper for this.  I created a template for the top portion of the lamp so that I could cut out the correct sizes needed out of the patterned paper.  For this, I used black & white polka dot and a floral pattern similar to what is on the lampshade.  Before gluing them on, I added some black ink around the edges of the paper.

IMG_7540

step3

I wasn’t worried if the papers didn’t exactly match up, because when being creative and artsy, things don’t need to be perfect.   It adds to the character of the piece.  For fun I added some ribbon that I already had that reminds me of a cute little tutu and happened to match my color scheme perfectly.  I wrapped it around the base, securing it with a thin line of glue.   Isn’t it the cutest?  My daughter is going LOVE this!

step4

step5

For the final touch, I found this saying  “Let Your Light Shine” in the embellishment pack that is also part of Heidi Swapp’s collection and it is absolutely perfect for this project.    So I took the rectangle piece, inked it with black around the edges, and added the paper flowers all around it.  I glued this cute bundle to the bottom of the lampshade near the floral pattern.  And Viola!  The lamp is finished!  Time to add the headbands and barrettes!  Hope you enjoyed this fun project and it’s inspired you to make one of your own.

IMG_7548 (1)

IMG_7550

Leave a Reply

